Tech Tip: Apple Threat Notification: Is It Real?

If you use an Apple device like an iPhone, iPad, or MacBook, hopefully you haven’t seen an Apple Threat Notification, but if you did, it could be legitimate.

As reported this month in multiple press outlets, Apple confirmed that it will notify you if your device has been targeted by a specific spyware attack. The notification doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve been hacked, but it means you should take some serious precautions, including restarting your device in Lockdown Mode and removing any app you’re not 100% certain you need.

Be careful of “fake” notifications imitating this real one. It’s wise to delete any apps you don’t actively use or trust on a routine basis, to save memory and reduce your attack surface. It’s also a good practice to reboot your phone regularly, since some attacks can’t survive a reboot. Can’t figure out how to reboot your new iPhone? One easy way is to tell Siri to “reboot.”

Have a question about this, or a tech tip you’d like us to cover? Contact Pegasus and let us know.